We had a play in league, 3rd baseman chased the runner pass the commitment line, the 3rd baseman tagged the runner, the umpire called the runner out, in my opinion the rummer is safe if the following rule is still in effect.
SSUSA has a rule that once you pass the commitment line (approx. 30 ft from home plate) he must continue home and it is a force play. You can not tag the runner or he is safe.
Gary, you are 100% correct, runner cannot be touch for a out once he passes commitment line, should have been safe by rule.
Simple 4-word answer • Umpire blew the call
Umpire sure did botch that one! Allow me to add that once a runner is tagged after he passes the commit line, not only is he safe, he doesn’t have to touch the scoring plate or cross the scoring line. He can go right to the dugout.