https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 7 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Interference or Not

Posted Discussion
Feb. 8
Mike14

2 posts
Interference or Not
This happened to me catching a few years back so I'm curious as to the outcome. A pop up was hit just in front of the batter. I went to field it but made contact with the batter and missed the ball which hit fair and then spun foul. I asked the umpire for an interference call because contact was made but he claimed the batter's box was a safe zone. My theory is that any contact made with a fielder on the initial ball is interference and the batter should have been declared out. I would say it's the same as if somehow a runner delayed leaving the box and then made contact with me as I was running to get his dribble in front of the plate. Who's right?
Feb. 9
B.J.

1108 posts
Interference or Not
no the batters box is not a safe zone.. the only safe zone would be a base that a runner is standing on
Feb. 9
DirkPitt

33 posts
Interference or Not
B.J. - here is one for you from this past weekend and is similar to the above. I'm pretty sure I know the answer but just confirming.

Batter hits a very short pop-up that is going to land ~5-8ft in front of home plate. Catcher collides with RH batter-runner as he attempts to field the ball. Umpire ruled the batter-runner safe and stated that the batter-runner has a right to the baseline.

Feb. 9
Hank Heffner

11 posts
Interference or Not
On a batted ball the defense has the right to make a play on the ball. The runner must avoid contact.
Feb. 9
B.J.

1108 posts
Interference or Not
HH Is correct
Feb. 9
B.J.

1108 posts
Interference or Not
One thing I should’ve added is that the only time I might have obstruction on the fielder would be if the runner gave the fielder the opportunity to make a play and the fielder booted the ball and then changed direction chasing the ball and ran into the runner..
Feb. 9
titanhd
Men's 60
640 posts
Interference or Not

Question: So it doesn't make a difference who made the initial contact. Per Mike 14 HE made contact- not the batter.
Feb. 9
B.J.

1108 posts
Interference or Not
correct the runner must give the fielder a clear path to make the play.. Int. by a runner does not have to be intentional
Feb. 10
stick8

1992 posts
Interference or Not
This is exactly like the infamous bunt by Cincinnati Reds outfielder Ed Armbrister in the 1975 World Series. Armbrister laid down what was intended to be a sacrifice bunt. Upon running to first he collided with Red Sox catcher Carlton Fisk who was attempting to field the ball. It caused Fisk to throw wildly to second in an attempt to force the runner from first. No call was made by home plate umpire Larry Barnett.
This has been a subject of a lot of debate thru the years.
I invite people to Google the play.
My call: interference on Armbrister.
Feb. 10
DieselDan
Men's 75
605 posts
Interference or Not
Thought about it yesterday, but here's the play stick8 mentioned. As you watch the video, keep an eye on Barnett's right hand. To me, he's made a fist and raising his hand. No one on the broadcast team mentioned that.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRw2_KvHcPk
March 14
Bigtimer40

16 posts
Interference or Not
Mike....as the Umpire for our local Senior league, I had this exact scenario last summer. I called dead ball at the point of contact and ruled the Batter out for interference. His argument was "well I thought it may bounce and go foul" then he thought he was also safe, because he was in the batters box. Had he attempted to run there would have been no contact.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners