https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 22 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for DirkPitt


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by DirkPitt »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Nov. 2, 2021
DirkPitt
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner struck by batted ball while on base in fair territory

One more comment to BJ's post. Assuming there was a fielder "in front" of the runner and the ball goes by the fielder untouched and then hits the runner that is a live ball UNLESS, there is another fielder behind the runner who in the umpire's judgement could have made the play had the ball not hit the runner. It's an odd nuance but has happened.

Even if the runner is on the base when struck by the batted ball, if the runner is attempting to interfere with the batted ball the umpire can call the runner out.

Here is a good discussion of all the various situations: https://baseballrulesacademy.com/runner-is-hit-by-a-batted-ball-safe-or-out-it-depends/

The most interesting one is the "phantom fielder" interpretation in MLB.

Sept. 14, 2021
DirkPitt
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Avoiding a tag

One more point, you will see this a lot at 1B where the first baseman will position themselves just outside the basepath (sometimes in the basepath) with a runner on first and less than two outs. The runner has the obligation to avoid the collision yet stay in the basepath (if hit to the first baseman) leaving very few options. The risk to the defense is the ball is not hit to the first baseman and there is obstruction if the first baseman cannot get out of the way of the runner.
Sept. 14, 2021
DirkPitt
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Avoiding a tag

I would agree with stick8, I would have to see the play unfold before making a judgement. As a runner, you'd have to be exceptionally quick to establish a basepath that was not directly in line with the 3B in the situation described unless the ball wasn't hit that hard.

Furthermore, assuming it was a ground ball directly to the SS in the infield with runners on 1B and 2B it would be hard to convince me that you were really thinking of running from 2B to home on an infield ground ball. My bias would be in favor of the defense based on what you described, but again, I didn't see the play so all this is purely conjecture.

Aug. 17, 2021
DirkPitt
Topic: Bats
Discussion: Suncoast Melee Diamond 2021 End load-opinions

I have both and if you like the 2017 Melee 2 then the Melee 3 is the bat for you. The new bat swings very similar to the 2017 one piece model. I like the Black Diamond but it swings just a bit lighter than the Melee 3. This is comparing the 27oz Melee 3 to the 27.5oz black diamond.

My opinions only.


July 9, 2021
DirkPitt
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: What's the correct call?

Whether it hit the mat or not is irrelevant and discussion of such only serves to confuse the issue. It's where the ball is when it's touched by an umpire or a player. If touched by a defensive player or an umpire while in/on/over fair territory it is a fair ball. If the strike mat is defined as being in fair territory and the ball was over the strike mat when touched or if the ball settles on the strike mat - fair ball.

Sounds like the umpire made a judgement call on where the ball was when touched by the catcher and then ruled correctly based on that judgement.
Nov. 28, 2020
DirkPitt
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Safe r out

Not sure why a runner would ever stop running without hearing "DEAD BALL" or "TIME." I know I would not and I don't know many guys I play with that would stop based on some random sound/phrase they heard. What if a fan made some noise that a baserunner misconstrued - is that impeding the batter-runner too?

Defensive players (and fans) call out all kinds of things during a play. Runner missed a bag, out of the box, stay/go, etc. The offense should play on until you hear TIME or DEAD BALL. Even on close foul balls most higher level players will continue on until they get some confirmation the call was made by an umpire and not some random individual.

When in doubt, run it out!


Feb. 25, 2020
DirkPitt
Topic: Players looking to join a team
Discussion: 50-55 Major - Major Plus SW Florida player l

Forgot to add, almost all of the players on the top teams are no lower than major and most are major plus at 50, 55 or 60.
Feb. 25, 2020
DirkPitt
Topic: Players looking to join a team
Discussion: 50-55 Major - Major Plus SW Florida player l

Check out the Florida Half Century League. I am not sure what region you're in but once you get connected there you'll find lots of teams. Nearly 100 teams in that league and most of the top teams/players play some tournament ball outside of the FHC.
Feb. 14, 2020
DirkPitt
Topic: Bats
Discussion: New melee

To be clear - I like the bat and have no issues with it's performance on the field. I'm guessing I had ~250 swings on the bat (can't say for certain). I did find the Suncoast to be pretty darn good from the start. My preferred bat is still the 2016 green Melee but given those aren't available I need to find another bat and the Suncoast is still the bat I'm leaning toward. I'll also say that with the Tatoo or Rock balls there is no break-in needed for these bats so there is no reason to swing these in BP which should extend the life.
Feb. 13, 2020
DirkPitt
Topic: Bats
Discussion: New melee

My "new" 13" Suncoast bat broke today, 59 days into the 60 day period. I'm glad it's under warranty. Other than the Miken "Big Cat" Freak this is the fastest I've ever had a bat break. I'll give Miken credit though, they replaced it even though the bat wasn't under warranty. Hopefully I have a similar experience with Suncoast.

Dec. 10, 2019
DirkPitt
Topic: Bats
Discussion: Suncoast/Adidas bats

I am also hitting them over the fence with the new Suncoast bat but switching to the Melee in the same batting session consistently results in a gain of 25-50+ feet in distance. Mishits with the Melee are also more forgiving and powerful and that is with a 12" barrel. I'm confident the new Suncoast is going to get better but I still say I personally don't see hot out of the wrapper.

Anyway, glad to hear the recovery is going well.
Dec. 10, 2019
DirkPitt
Topic: Bats
Discussion: Suncoast/Adidas bats

I recently purchased the 13" end load, 28oz. I have been swinging the 27oz green Melee for a few years. I'm on my 6th of these green end-load Melee bats in the last two years (they break). I have found the last two "batches" of these bats are not as good as the prior versions and have been looking for another bat.

I tried the prior 2-piece Adidas bats and didn't like any of them. I also don't see too many of the top hitters I play with/against swinging the older 2-piece Adidas bats (major/major+).

This newer 13" model seems more comparable to the older Melee and I've been pleased with it after about 100-150 swings. It's nowhere near opened up yet and I've yet to find any bat that is "hot out of the wrapper." This bat does seem to be getting better at a faster clip than my older Melee's so I'd say I'm pleased. If this one doesn't work out though, I'm done with Adidas/Suncoast bats.
Oct. 14, 2019
DirkPitt
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two Umpires make opposite call on same play

Bases loaded, two outs, tie game in extra innings (top of inning). Batter hits fly ball to center field. Center fielder charges the ball hard and according to the base umpire short-hops the ball (called & signaled no-catch although he didn't yell it out too loudly). Home plate umpire calls catch and does yell a bit louder and then literally calls time-out thinking the game is over. Runner on second and third score, batter runner stops at first and runner on first base advances one base. At the point the home plate umpire called time the runner on 2nd base had not yet scored (although he was past 3rd base).

Team in field argue that they "reacted" to the home plate umpire's call and all runners should only advance one base (runner on second who scored goes back to third base). Team at-bat argued that the runner on 2nd scored on the play and was already past third and running towards home when time was called.

Nobody disputed the home plate umpire made a mistake and it was not his call (catch/no-catch) and should not have called time.

I can't find a comparable example in the NFHS book or in any other rule books on this play. One could argue that both teams were put at a disadvantage based on the conflicting calls.

Ultimately, they ruled no-catch but sent the runner who started on 2nd back to 3rd and took the run off the board effectively rewarding the team in the field for the erroneous call. What is the correct call and where in the rule book is this situation called out?
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners