SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: berger; 5 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Kicked Ball

Posted Discussion
Jan. 30

2 posts
Recently had a situation where a second baseman muffed a grounder. It rolled in front of him and he kicked the ball to second base which beat the runner. The runner was called out. I believe that that is incorrect. In fact I believe that the runner should have been awarded another base and moved to third. This was a force play at second. The only rule that I can find covers kicked balls from field of play to off the field of play. What is the ruling?
Jan. 30
chico senior
Men's 60
134 posts
Runner is out.
Jan. 30

2 posts
He intentionally kicked the ball not accidentally.
Jan. 30
Men's 55
286 posts
The runner is still out! It doesn't matter how the ball out to the base!
Jan. 31

1992 posts
Runner is out.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook