SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Spot, TABLE SETTER 11; 83 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for RSF450

Real name:



Message posted by RSF450 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Feb. 27, 2024
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Asking the scorekeeper for help

In our league play a two man umpiring crew got caught out of position. The play involved a third out made at third base when the batter tried to turn a double it a triple and if the lead runner from first base had crossed the scoring line. Both umpires did not see if the lead runner had scored and the PU asked the scorekeeper who was sitting right behind home plate what he saw. The scorekeeper advised the runner had not reached the scoring line and the PU ruled no run on the play. The aggrieved team protested the use of the scorekeeper to assist in making the call. Can an umpire ask an off field official for help with a call? And is there a specific rule prohibiting this practice?
Thanks for any help in advance!
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook