https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: COUNTDEMONET, TonyA; 8 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Double Play - Does run score?

Posted Discussion
April 9
JROB17

3 posts
Situation: Runners on 1st and 3rd with 1 out. Fly ball is caught in RF, throw is made to 1st to double off runner for leaving early. Runner on third crosses home plate before play is made at 1st. Does the run count?
April 9
SSUSA Staff

3528 posts
YES ... Strictly a "timing play" and, as described, run scored before the out was made ...
April 10
Bear1369
Men's 50
7 posts
Unless The rule is different in SSUSA...
The run in this scenario would not count, as the base runner from first base was called out on a force play at first base, for the third out of the inning. Because it's a force out at 1B for the 3rd out, the run does not score. I've been an umpire for 25yrs.
April 10
B.J.

1112 posts
Bear.. the run does count per Staffs explanation.. the runner called out at 1B was also considered a timing play because he wasn't forced to advance and the ball beat him back to the bag for not tagging up properly on the caught fly ball.. the only time there can be a true force out is on a batted ball where the runner MUST vacate the bag
April 10
JohnO28
Men's 50
125 posts
Bear1369,

You're wrong though. At every level of softball and baseball that run scores.. The runner heading back to 1B isn't considered a force play because the batter was out thus making the runner not be forced off the base. You can certainly tag the bag for the out but it's no longer a force play The run counts in that scenario at every level of ball.
April 10
DaveDowell
Men's 70
4350 posts
Bear1369 ... B.J. and JohnO28 are both correct on this ... Here are a couple of things to keep in mind on this ... [1] Whenever the batter is retired by a caught fly ball (fair or foul), there can never be a "force out" on the play ... [2] A baserunner being doubled up for leaving a base too soon is never a force out situation, because a force only occurs when the baserunner is required to advance to the next base ...

April 10
WIF

1 posts
In JR0B17 first post scenario. The only way the runner would not score from third would be IF he/she had also left early and it was properly appealed, becoming the 4th out of the inning.
April 11
Bear1369
Men's 50
7 posts
My Bad Guys... I misread the ruling in the rule book. My Apologies
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners