SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: rfireman44; 9 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Runner advances to what base?

Posted Discussion
Jan. 31

16 posts
A recent play in our rec league was as follows: Runner on first base. Batter hits a slow roller towards first base and pitcher runs over and fields the ball. His throw to first is wide of the bag and slowly rolls out of the boundary line. At the time of the throw, the batter-runner was about 2/3 of the way to first. The runner who started on first is very fast and claims that since he was past 2nd base when the throw was made, he should be awarded two bases from that point and he is awarded home by the umpires. I believe that this particular play is governed by Section 8.4(10)E1 and the umpires should have awarded the two bases based on the runners positions at the time of the pitch. Therefore, runner who started on first is advanced to 3rd base. Can I get a clarification. Also, in a similar play just yesterday, runners on first and second, a hard hit ball to the third baseman. He steps on third for the force out and throws wildly to first. I believe the same rule applies, but want to know if the fact that he made a play at third before he makes the first throw, does this change the ruling cited above?
Feb. 1
Men's 75
606 posts
Since the throw by the pitcher was the first play, I believe positioning reverts back to where base runners were at the time of the pitch. If an outfield throw goes into dead ball territory, decision is made based on where runners were at the time of the throw. That's why single game umpires have to stop watching the ball (it will take care of itself) and check on runners touching bases. Scan the base runners position as the ball is finally thrown.
Feb. 1

1112 posts
BillC48.. 1st scenario .. the award was correct 2 bases from time of pitch.. the only time runners would be awarded more is if "ALL" runners had advanced at least 1 base before the 1st throw then the award would be on the position of the runners at the time of the throw

2nd scenario.. No Rule 8.4 (10) E2 would apply since a play had been made .. when a throw is made by an outfielder or is the result of any SUCCEEDING PLAY or attempted play, the two base award shall be
governed by the position of each runner and the last base he has touched at the time the throw was made.

Feb. 2
Men's 60
78 posts
Diesel Dan how would like to be an Umpire for SSUSA contact me okay. Were looking for umpires and you have my number.
Feb. 2
Men's 75
606 posts
When my goal of helping a team win a free ring and get to TOC at least once, no matter how much it may rain, I might get in touch with you. Would like a shot at winning a pair of cleats. Don't forget who first brought up the wrong position of the new turf right handed batter's box at Yankee stadium at BLD Vegas. Wasn't the umpire. I'd have to take some classes with KC first and read the current rule book for a few months. After calling you, I'd have to call a divorce attorney.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook