Home of Senior Softball-USA and Senior Softball World Championships
Advertisement: Queen Kapiolani Hotel

SSUSA Message Board

Message board home
Sign-in or register to get started
Online now: 0 members; 10 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Batter in Batters Box

RH Batter pops up 5' up the 3rd base line in foul territory. Batter never leaves batters box and has his back to the catcher who runs into him trying to get the ball. Is that batter interference or no?
Seems like the catcher should have had a straight line to to the ball, especially if the ball is a few feet into foul territory.
SSUSA rulebook referencing 1.45 and 7.6I. Batter shall not hinder the catcher from catching the ball either in the batter’s box or intentionally hinder the catcher while standing within the batter’s box. The batter is out and ball is dead. However, a caveat it does still come down to the umpire’s judgement call of interference on the the part of the batter preventing the catcher from making the catch.
the batters box is similar to a runner standing on a base.. they are entitled to stay in/on both .. it would be 100% umpire judgment whether the batter INTENTIONALLY hindered the catcher from making the catch.. with john028's scenario the batter had his back to the catcher so it sounds like he had no idea where the catcher was going so per scenario no INT call
BJ,

Exactly, the batters swing turned him to face 3b and he looked up to see the ball and saw it was foul and stood there. The catcher was looking up and ran right into the batter and the ball fell to the ground. The ump called interference on the batter and said he has to move out of the way to allow the catcher to catch the ball. Every umpire on the premises agreed that the batter has the right to occupy the batters box as long as he doesn't intentionally move in front of the catcher which he clearly didn't because he didn't move in any direction.
Did this happen at the Smoky tournament?
Just curious: Where does it say anything about "intent"?

The rule I see -- 7.6 "Batter is Out" (F) When members of the team at bat interfere with a player attempting to field a fly ball.

It doesn't say "intentionally interferes". It also doesn't say that a player in the batter's box (or in a coach's box or in contact with a base) is exempt.

Coincidentally, in Monday night's Mets - Dodgers game, Pete Alonso hit the proverbial "home run in a silo" and stood in the batters box while Dodger catcher Rushing had to run around him. The plate umpire pointed at Alonso -- presumably, according to the LA TV guys, citing interference. Alonso reacted with surprise and turned toward the umpire while the ball was still in the air. Rushing managed the catch, so it became moot, but after the catch, you could see the umpire speaking toward the Met bench what looked like "He has to get out of the way". (Disclaimer: Not a lip-reader)

Maybe it's different in softball.

I'd like to hear what Donna and/or Dave think.
FF.. I'm not as good as Donna but I'm definitely better than DD.. lol.. below is the rule stating intent

BATTER IS OUT
rule 7.6 I .. The batter shall not hinder the catcher from catching or throwing the ball by stepping out of the batter's box, or INTENTIONALLY hinder the catcher while standing within the batter's box. EFFECT: The ball is dead, the batter is out and each runner must return to the last base that, in the umpire’s judgment, was touched at the time of the interference
B.J. ... Why are you picking on DieselDan? ...
Lol.
B.J. ... Agreed, but I find Rule 7.6(F) to be more on point. As cited above: 7.6 "Batter is Out" (F) When members of the team at bat interfere with a player attempting to field a fly ball.

No modifiers; no conditionals. Batter is a member of the team at bat; a pop-up is a fly ball; and being in the way of the fielder attempting to reach a fly ball is, I think, clearly interfering with his attempt to catch it.

Unless 7.6(I) is a carve-out of a special situation to which 7.6(F) might otherwise apply, I don't see "intent" as a pertinent consideration to the situation presented.

1st we all know who the real DD is.. but good comeback

FF.. yes 7.6 I is citing a specific situation.. and in the original scenario the batter had his back to the catcher so he had no idea where he was or was going.. again this is all umpire judgment that when the CATCHER ran into the batter did he think the batter INTENTIONALLY interfered..
When does a batter become a batter-runner? (Answer: After hitting the ball.) Rule 7.6 I deals with a batter, not a batter-runner. (This is a fast-pitch rule that probably has been in our rule book since its inception.) See SSUSA rule 1.45, which says “A base runner must avoid a fielder making a play.” That includes the batter-runner. As the USA rule book says in more detail, “Defensive players must be given the opportunity to field the ball anywhere on the playing field or throw the ball without being hindered.” So in the case cited in this thread, I would have interference. (Sorry, BJ.)
Donna, no problem .. that's what this forum is for, getting rules interpreted correctly and also to pick on DD

although I believe a batter becomes a BR when he hits the ball into fair territory not foul .. also if your interpretation is correct then SSUSA needs to remove the word intentionally from rule 7.6 I.. and not give 2 different descriptions 1) it reads the batter shall not hinder the catcher out of the batters box and does not refer to him as a batter/runner
and then it changes the wording to say intentionally hinder the catcher while standing within the batter's box.. 1 last thing is that the act of INT. by an offensive player does not have to be intentional which again makes the wording of 7.6 I incorrect

B.J., if you read the USA rules, our 7.6.I was picked up from that book long ago in a section that deals with fastpitch (or situations with the batter in the box who had not hit the ball yet). I believe the “intentional” wording applies only to a batter who has not hit the ball. If you have a chance, look at the USA book. (And yes, for SSUSA purposes, it might be wise to address that wording.
If I pop up to the catcher (or any area that close to where the catcher could possibly catch the ball) I will take whatever the umpire tells me. Cuz I suck on that AB.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
INTERNATIONAL
SOFTBALL
TOURS
NATIONAL SPONSORS
OFFICIAL GLOVE
OF SSUSA