Yesterday we had a play at home plate where the catcher was pulled off the plate by a wide throw which carried him out to the scoring line about 6 feet off the plate. The runner went through the plate area claiming that he was avoiding a collision with the catcher. There is about 10 foot of open area available for the runner to run through without going through the plate area. Is the runners argument valid? Thank you
Potentially, but ultimately this call comes down to the umpire's judgement. Sometimes the throw is a little off line, leaving room for the runner to continue on his normal path. Sometimes the runner is way off, causing the defender to vacate home plate and move into the traditional runners area. And, sometimes the throw is so far off like that it hits the backstop and ricochets right back toward home plate.
Also keep in mind that your vantage point (dugout, etc) is likely different than the umpire, who is standing inside the diamond.
Rule 8.9(2) says that if the runner touches any part of the strike mat or batters box the runner shall be called out. My question is… is there an allotmade made on this if the runner is trying to avoid a collision even?
Randall.. as Tim explained this would be up to the judgment of the umpire.. but yes I would allow a runner to enter the batters box area if in my judgment it was done to avoid a collision with a defensive player