SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Hacker, TABLE SETTER 11; 182 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Batters Box Rule

Posted Discussion
April 18, 2023
Advil Knight
Men's 55
19 posts
Batters Box Rule
Dave I have a question about the batters box... Batter starts in the box hitting right handed. The pitcher pitches 2 balls. So the count is 3-1. The batter asks for time out. The umpire grants the time out. The batter then steps across home plate to the left handed hitters box.In SSUSA is that an out? Most softball organizations the rule is you must step out of the hitters box and go behind the catcher to enter the hitters box from the appropriate side. Is this also true with SSUSA Rules?
April 19, 2023
Men's 75
574 posts
A. The batter must have at least some portion of both feet on or inside the
lines of the batter's box at the start of the pitch. A batter who steps out of
the batter’s box at any time during the pitch and then hits the ball, fair or
foul, shall be called out. Steps out means touching the ground completely
outside of the lines of the batter’s box. (See §1.5)
B. The batter must take his position within ten seconds after being directed by
the umpire. EFFECT: The umpire will call a strike. No pitch has to be thrown
and the ball is dead.
C. The batter shall not step directly in front of the catcher to the other batter's
box while the pitcher is in position to pitch. EFFECT: The ball is dead, the
batter is out and the runners may not advance.

Not sure how a granted time out plays into your question.
April 19, 2023
204 posts
I agree with the rule however when there is no line where does it state that it’s a judgement call by the umpire in our rule? I believe there is something that states the batter can not intentionally remove the lined batters box but with no line what’s the call and why?
April 19, 2023
1080 posts
There is nothing in the rules that says a batter cannot switch sides of the batters box as long as the picture is not in position and ready to pitch… also he doesn’t have to walk behind the catcher and umpire
April 21, 2023
409 posts
Looks like someone must have been reading the Imaginary Rule Book; when time is out there's no sacred ground in and around home plate
April 24, 2023
Men's 50
23 posts
I do that 98% of the time when the pitcher struggles to throw me a strike, I call time, inform the umpire of my intentions to switch sides, and walk behind both the umpire and catcher to erase any visual that I may have stepped cross the plate. I've been playing and umpiring this game since 1981 and I've only had one person attempt this miserably as I had to call them out for stepping on and across the plate with the pitcher in position and ready to deliver the pitch.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook