Home of Senior Softball-USA and Senior Softball World Championships
Advertisement: Queen Kapiolani Hotel

SSUSA Message Board

Message board home
Sign-in or register to get started
Online now: 1 member: Matty507; 9 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: scoring line in senior softball

Can a runner, who has fallen and is past the commit line, touch down on or across the line with any other body part (hand?)than the foot to score? Thoughts??
Short answer. YES, as long as he did not dive across the line.
rox11.. in your post you ask about the CL then you ask about scoring?? the CL and scoring line are 2 different lines.. yes the runner can score by "FALLING" (not sliding) head first over scoring line... as far as the CL I've never had a runner trip and fall head first over line but have his feet not cross over and I don't ever remember this question coming up.. DD is the runner that falls head first over the CL committed to home or can he return to 3B??

I'm tempted to use the NFL definition of the catch/no-catch criteria when a receiver falls down in the field of play after he has possession of the ball, but before his feet touch the ground ... That's a catch ... As it relates to the Commitment line, the intent of the rule revision this year for "both feet" past the CL was to prevent the CL "dance of deception" ... It's pretty difficult to do much of that laying flat on your face or on your butt watching! ... In your fact tweak, I'm ruling he's past the CL and his only destination option is toward Home ... The only other idea would be calling him out for his own safety because he's too clumsy to be running for himself and should have had a C/R ... JUST KIDDING!!! (sort of)

yes I agree that he's over the line.. but in all my years of umpiring I've never had that scenario come up.. and as you know I'm a "stickler" for wording of a rule.. I hope I never have it happen and call the runner out when the catcher touches the strike mat holding the ball and then have the Mgr. come out and argue.. but blue neither one of his feet ever crossed the line...lol

and if since both feet didn't cross over the line can he be tagged?? ...

DD.. I wish wayne was around to help with this one..lmao
In my opinion, I think the new guideline of having both feet cross the line should be the deciding factor. If he has fallen on and both feet have not crossed line he can be tagged out but conversely can get up then return to 3B if able. Typically, if someone has fallen would be tagged out if caught in a rundown situation so he should not get rewarded if he or she falls (not dives) across the line unless both feet cross the line. I think it reduces the chance of a controversial call by the umpire.
BJ, we (a couple umpires and directors and I) were discussing that exact play at the first tourney of the year and came up with a couple suggestions. My idea was that when that commitment line play happens and the player runs up to it and stops, the umpire then says 'rundown'. At that point the commitment line no longer is relevant for that play and you just have a normal rundown-like real softball, and the player is then tagged anywhere for the out... The other idea was to just do away with the commitment line. Nobody could remember why we put it in in the first place. Both eliminate that 'non-softball' play.
Suggestion for all rec players/umpires. You might want to make copies of the new CL and first base bag rules to prevent the inevitable "discussions" about the safe/out call.
DieselDan.. we have 5 mens divisions and 3 ladies divisions rec leagues here in The Villages that I sent out the SSUSA changes to telling them all as always that they had the choice to change their rules or keep their existing rules and to my knowledge no one has chosen to change
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
INTERNATIONAL
SOFTBALL
TOURS
NATIONAL SPONSORS
OFFICIAL GLOVE
OF SSUSA