http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: leslie, readytoplay, vet11; 68 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: 5th Run

Posted Discussion
June 14, 2022
NYGNYY
195 posts
5th Run
Today had a situation where the 5th run was on third, runner on first one out.

Batter hits a single up the middle. Runner at 3rd scores the 5th run however the runner at first never runs and touches 2nd. Umpire calls a dead ball out on the runner never touching 2nd and calls the runner back to 3rd, no run scored. Now 2 outs and runners on 3rd and 1st. Right call? And if so where do I find it in our rules? Thanks
June 14, 2022
Dbax
Men's 65
2065 posts
Its just a force out at second. Run scores.
June 14, 2022
mck71
296 posts
Apologies for not stating the specific rule (I am sure someone will add) but this one is pretty easy, BAD CALL by the umpire. There is NO forcing the runner to advance to the next base so if they choose NOT to advance, as long as the play is made to 2B, that runner is out, that only makes 2 outs, run still scores AS LONG AS Batter/Runner gets to and LEGALLY touches 1B.

Now, IF the B/R does not LEGALLY touch 1B (technically they could touch either bag since ball went into the OF and no play being made to first), then it would be ruled as a dp and as both runners are being forced, the run would not score.

I also BELIEVE the ONLY dead ball call would be if B/R hit the single and then immediately headed to the dugout. I am sure someone can add more to this possible scenario because not sure if in this scenario the run would not count as well because runner not advancing to 2nd is out and B/R is out for leaving the playing field before advancing to the base (dead ball out)?

Dave, Tim or BJ should have this covered but absolutely the wrong call based on your description of the play.
June 14, 2022
B.J.
1046 posts
mck71 ..yes in original post run should have scored..
in your scenario where the B/R does not advance to 1b and enters the dugout.. even if the batter on 1st and 3rd had advanced if the B/R does not touch 1B and enters the dugout he is to be called out and all runners return to the base they were on at the time of the pitch.. no run scores


8.3 BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT
C. When he fails to advance to first base and enters his team area after a batted fair ball, a base on balls or catcher obstruction.
EFFECT: The ball
is dead, the batter-runner is out and runners return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch unless put out prior to the violation.
June 15, 2022
mck71
296 posts
Thx BJ, that makes perfect sense and I should have known that (haven't umpired the past 2 years and I guess it's time for a brush up on the rules! lol)
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners