https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: 31Bull31, Outlaw23, Tony Boy; 98 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: You make the call

Posted Discussion
April 28, 2022
stick8
1991 posts
You make the call
Runner on 1st, 1 out. Batter hits a short fly ball to right field. Runner at first tagged up and bluffs going to second after the catch. As the runner is jogging back to first the right fielder throws to first behind the runner. The throw goes out of play before he got back to first. What’s the call?
April 28, 2022
B.J.
1102 posts
stick... it's a 2 base award and the award
will be determined by the position of the runner when the ball left the fielder's hand ... BUT since the runner never tagged up on the catch he must STILL go back and tag 1b and that counts as 1 base.. so the runner is awarded 2B



April 28, 2022
DaveDowell
Men's 70
4281 posts
B.J. ... Your statement of the rule is correct, but it appears from the fact pattern that the runner DID tag up and bluffed going to second ... If that tag up was after the catch, there is no obligation to return to first and I would award those two bases to have the runner on third ...
April 28, 2022
B.J.
1102 posts
DD... ooops yup didn't read it correctly...but I liked my scenario better..lol
April 28, 2022
Turning2
Men's 70
203 posts
Nice to be able to agree with DD, BJ you’re not reading the original post correctly, 2 base award puts the runner on 3rd base.
April 28, 2022
fresnomdn
12 posts
Always two bases on this play no matter the direction of the runner. Two from the last legally occupied base of the runner, tag or no tag. Unless there is a special senior rule for this play, it's always been two bases no matter the wording (two bases, one+one, etc., and direction of the runner is irrelevant.
April 29, 2022
Donna McGuire
63 posts
Great explanation from fresnomdn. There is no special senior rule for this play. The runner gets 3B. (Does not mater if he had tagged or not; he still gets 3B. In the case where a runner fails to tag, the defense can appeal that mistake.)

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners