|Nov. 30, 2021|
|Runner Interference and Dead Bal|
This happened at the Phoenix Winternationals this month. Runners on first and third with no outs. Batter his a grounder to the second basemen who flips the ball to the shortstop for the force out, who then throws pass the first basemen. Once by the ball gets by the first basemen, the runner on third runs home but is thrown out. The umpire then call runner interference at second base. The out already occurred at second and the batter going to first is now out. He said the continuation of the play resulted in the runner going home is also out, a triple play. My point to the umpire was the interference call resulted in a dead ball and the runner on third must go back to third whether he was called out at home or not as the play was over. Is the umpire in error?
I looked up the rules and reference 9.1 (H) Dead Ball - When the offensive team causes interference and 8.6 (last part) ...If in the umpireís judgment the runner fails to avoid a collision with a defensive player involved in the play, the ball will be declared dead and that runner called out. All base runners except the batter will be returned to their previous base unless forced to advance. If in the umpireís judgment the runner's collision with the defensive player involved in the play negates a double play, the umpire may award a second out.
|Nov. 30, 2021|
|once INT. is called it becomes a dead ball and the runner is called out.. then it is the judgment of the umpire whether another out could have been made.. if in my judgment there was a chance to get the B/R out at 1st had INT. not happened I would have 2 outs and runner returned to 3rd|
|Dec. 1, 2021|
|??? Why would the Umpire wait until After the play was over to call Interference? Isn't he supposed to call interference at the time it actually occurs?|
|Dec. 1, 2021|
|DC.. umpire error... yes, time should be called immediately|
|Dec. 1, 2021|
|What happened at second that resulted in the umpire calling interference? |
|Dec. 5, 2021|
|Sorry for the late response Stick. The umpire felt the runner going into second base did not slide or make a good enough attempt to get out of the way of the shortstop in making the throw to first base. I understand the out at second and interference call for the out at first. The third out at home should not have been called.|
|Dec. 6, 2021|
|We had a similar issue in a game we played in Phoenix, however the umpire failed to make the correct call initially and would not consider changing the call he made. The runner came into second base, bent over and ran into the shortstop who was replaying the throw to first base. The runner was actually out at first base, but the umpire ruled he beat the throw. The SS then questioned the umpire about getting ran into by the runner and asked if the runner at first should have been called out on runner interference. The umpire's response was that, in his opinion the runner did not interfere with the throw, to which the SS expressed the reality that whether or not in an umpire's opinion, the runner interfered with the throw or not doesn't matter when the runner actually ran into the SS, clearly failing to avoid contact or get out of the SS's way. Ultimately, nothing changed, but I do not think the umpire's take on the play and subsequent call are correct. Can anyone else offer an opinion?|
|Dec. 7, 2021|
|Ok thatís fine, But the post from and BJ & DC Pete raises a good point. If interference occurs itís called right away and the play is dead. If as you say the umpire waited until the play was over well after interference occurred to call it then thatís a mistake on his part.|
|Dec. 8, 2021|
|IDK3Base - BJ, DCP, and S8 have all responded with correct ruling for your play. It is almost unbelievable that an umpire in a major tournament could be so wrong on both his timeliness of call and interpretation and enforcement of the rules. If I were manager of either team, i would keep a current rule book in my travel bag and with the okay of the plate ump, show him the error of his call. Possibly he wouldn't make a second time.|
gpump - same with your play, umpire made a pitiful ruling. See below the rule copied out of the SSUSA Rule Book. I can't highlight or underline but refer to the sentence covering the runner failing to avoid ANY contact with the fielder and the resultant out on the batter/runner at first base, and the call of dead ball.
8.6 ē WHEN SLIDING IS OPTIONAL - AVOIDING COLLISIONS
Sliding or diving into first base or the scoring line or scoring plate is permitted only to avoid a collision with a defensive player. This is an umpireís judgment call and is not subject to protest or appeal. A player may slide or dive into second or third bases, or when returning to any base. A runner must make every effort to avoid colliding with opposing players while running the bases or sliding or diving. If in the umpire's judgment a runner misses a base to avoid a collision, the runner will not be called out. If in the umpireís judgment the runner fails to avoid a collision with a defensive player involved in the play, the ball will be declared dead and that runner called out. All base runners except the batter will be returned to their previous base unless forced to advance. If in the umpireís judgment the runner's collision with the defensive player involved in the play negates a double play, the umpire may award a second out.
Both of these plays occurred in Phoenix, if these were sanctioned by SSUSA, hopefully the UIC and TD have been advised and more rules/situations/applications will be given in classes or clinics for these umpires.
Players and fans deserve the best efforts of the umpires during these games. If BJ, DCP, and S8 weren't playing, if they were umpiring instead, the calls would have been made properly.
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account,
. It will only take a moment.