http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 16 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: courtesy runner

Posted Discussion
Sept. 21, 2021
shortstop33
22 posts
courtesy runner
runner on first and second manager asked umpire for time out to insert courtesy. Manager told umpire courtesy runner was replacing man at second. runner when to first, runner on ist did not vacate. when courtesy runner started for second umpire told him he had to run at first because he touch bag. was umpire right?
Sept. 21, 2021
B.J.
934 posts
SS33... "IF" the mgr. specifically told the umpire that he was putting in a CR for the runner on 2nd and the umpire acknowledged him I would allow the CR to go to 2B even though he touched 1B ..

that's why it's important for umpires during pre-game meetings with the mgr's. to tell them that when requesting a CR I need to hear the number of the CR and the base he is going to ...

if the mgr. just yells out blue CR and the runner comes in touches 1st that would be his bag and then if he proceeded to go to 2b I would not say anything until he touched 2B then I would call him out upon touching the bag as an illegal CR..

I'm not a coach so I would never tell/instruct a runner "unless" he asked on if he could proceed to 2B after touching 1B

Sept. 21, 2021
Rob64
23 posts
It doesn't matter what base, what Number was going in for what number? 10 running for 15 Manager doesn't have to be involved. Courtesy runner can announce his number and what number he's running for! Unless your playing in California then the rules change per player or team your on!
Sept. 21, 2021
Rob64
23 posts
What if he went home touched the plate and announced to the home plate umpire he was 10 running for 15 at second base? ON A MONDAY?
Sept. 21, 2021
stick8
1932 posts
Since the manager announced the courtesy runner was running for the guy on second that courtesy runner can go to second and run for him. No penalty. In my opinion the umpire in your scenario was mistaken.
Sept. 21, 2021
B.J.
934 posts
rob64.. I agree with you that a player can announce the CR ... I used the Mgr. as an example "BECAUSE" that was the OP..

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners