https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 52 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: How would you rule?

Posted Discussion
May 28, 2021
stick8
1985 posts
How would you rule?
Before I state the play this is from a high school baseball game I was working last week and yes it did happen. Itís baseball and rules are different but Iím curious to see how others would rule on this play.
Bottom of the last inning, bases loaded with one out. Home team is down by two.
Batter hits a deep fly to left center. Left and center fielder converge at the wall, ball goes over the wall. Walk off home run!! (Itís not hit and sit, home runs are run out)
Runner at third scores.
Runner at second runs over to the batter-runner whoís running tomfirst and starts celebrating. Heís out for vacating the base bath. Two outs.
The batter-runner for some strange reason passes the runner who was on first and was between first and second. The batter runner is out. Three outs.
Ball game. Visiting team wins 6-5.
Or is it ballgame??????
Even if you only umpire softball or donít umpire feel free to tell us how you would rule on this play.






May 28, 2021
coop3636
511 posts
Its a bad outcome, but you are correct.
The run doesn't score until he rounds the bases and touches home plate.
May 28, 2021
AJC
Men's 60
215 posts
Id have ballgame also, it sucks for the home team but rules are rules. Hard to believe that they didnt know the rule if they are playing in high school.

I bet a few of the parents of the home team wrongfully so let the umpires have it.
May 28, 2021
stick8
1985 posts
Some did AJC, but it wasnt a big deal.
Even given what happened there was still something that could have occurred that would have changed the outcome.
Anyone want to take a guess?
May 28, 2021
Panther
Men's 70
32 posts
Wild guess....R2 could still touch 3rd and home. He was not avoiding a tag. R1 could touch second, third, and home. the only out would be batter-runner passing r1.
May 28, 2021
stick8
1985 posts
Not such a wild guess Panther! But R2 is out for vacating the base path. You could also make a case he ran bases in reverse order. Both you cannot do in baseball.
And you are correct about R1!! Amongst the chaotic confusion I had my left arm outódelayed dead ball on a home run, while watching him. Since he was not out on the play and because it was a home run he is entitled to continue on to touch 2nd, third and home. His run most certainly would have counted, thus it wouldíve been a tie game. But he stopped and must have figured since there were three outs the game was over and stood there for a minute. Then he ran off the field. My left arm went down, then the game was over.

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners