http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: tg69; 99 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: batter interference

Posted Discussion
May 12, 2021
Grinder17
Men's 65
3 posts
batter interference
batter has a full count 3-2. Next pitch is inside and the batter catches the ball. Does the batter have to let the ball hit the ground so the umpire can call ball or strike or is he out for interference?
May 12, 2021
Full Count
38 posts
I've seen many batters catch inside balls and the umpire called them balls.

Previous runner interference discussion.
I've always heard runners must slide or get out of the way. Once you are out it is no longer your base line to stand in. Your entire body can be used for interference not just a hand or arm.
May 13, 2021
Grinder17
Men's 65
3 posts
So youíre saying itís a ball? How do you call it a ball when it never hits the ground? So any pitch can be caught and called a ball? Whatís the rule??
May 13, 2021
B.J.
904 posts
G17.. you wont find a specific rule about the batter catching a pitched ball.. this basically comes down to the umpire and how he would call it.. I have had it happen about 10 times over many years most of the time with 2 strikes on the batter the pitcher purposely throws an inside pitch hoping the batter will swing and foul out.. I just use my judgment had the ball not been caught by the batter, would it have been a strike ... I do remember calling a strike on a batter 1 time who was crowding the plate at the time he had a 3 and O count and in my judgment the ball COULD possible have caught the edge of the strike mat..
I've never had a complaint about it, and if the defense complained which also has never happened I would give a warning to the batter but stand by my original call
May 13, 2021
TAT22
67 posts
Grinder17: When a batter is in the batter box and a ball is pitched and the batter doesn't move and the pitched ball hits the batter on any part of his body that ball is called a ball without hitting the ground and its a dead ball.
May 13, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
104 posts
I agree with B.J. that you probably will not find a written rule unless you interpreted the rule on interference that prohibits the batter from interfering with the catcher making a play.

When I umpired ASA in the 70ís 80ís and 90ís when instructing at pre-season clinics for umpires and team managers, this is the instructions that we gave to them:

If the catcher reaches for a ball that hinders your ability to properly call a ball or strike, make the call a ball and explain to the catcher that he must allow you to see the ball complete itís arc in relation to the strike zone based on batters front shoulder and trailing knee and the width, depth of plate and where the ball crosses the plate and lands behind the plate. Usually only takes one instruction to make it clear.

If the hitter catches a pitch, make the call a strike and explain the same thing to him, he must allow the ball to complete its flight in order for you to call a fair and equitable game for both teams. Again, usually only took one call to make it clear.
May 13, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
104 posts
Trailing shoulder and lead knee, at 70 hrs old I get ahead of myself at times
May 13, 2021
B.J.
904 posts
T2.. a lot less complicated in SSUSA it either had a chance to hit the strike mat or it didn't
May 13, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
104 posts
B.J. Yes Sir, strike mat takes all the guesswork out of the equation. I like the concept of the mat. Might be the most innovative thinking to force consistency. Other associations might benefit in looking into a mat of sorts to fit their strike zone and pitch height rules.
May 13, 2021
AJC
Men's 60
181 posts
True B J, in senior ball with a mat , I dont remember ever seeing a catcher actually catch the ball before it hit the ground. If he was close enough to the mat to catch the ball in the air he'd get his head taken off. Most of us as a batter has caught the ball in the air if its coming at us or clearly inside without a word from either rhe umpire or the catcher.
May 21, 2021
txnighttrain
105 posts
It is an umpire judgment call. If in the umpire believes it would have been a strike, then that is the call otherwise it is a ball.
June 6, 2021
k man
Men's 65
297 posts
AJC, we had that exact thing happen to us. The opposing catcher caught the ball before it hit the mat/ground.
I didn't hear the umps call, but my teammates said he originally called it a strike. After my complaint, he changed it to no pitch/do over. Again I complained that it should be a ball since it never hit the mat. How do the forum umpires see it in relationship to using a mat. He was not going to change his decision of no pitch. btw, my batter eventually walked.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners