Online now: 3 members: Dbax
, TABLE SETTER 11
; 44 anonymous
Discussion: Infield fly not called
|April 7, 2021|
|Infield fly not called|
Runners on first and second batter hits a pop up toward third base, 3B is camped under the ball, at the last second the SS yells out I got it, the SS bumps into 3B and the ball falls to the ground, the runners not hearing IF think they now have to run and started to advance, the 3B picked up the ball touched third and threw to second for a double play. After the play the umpire admitted he should’ve called IF. and per the rule corrected his mistake
Here’s the question. Does the umpire return the runners and just call the batter out? What If both runners advanced safely to the next base do they get to stay there since IF is a live ball?
|April 8, 2021|
|Umpire should move runners back to the base they were on when infield fly should have been called batter is out.|
|April 9, 2021|
MB SG #1
When the in field fly rule is in effect the batter is
automatically out if the ball is in fair territory weather
or not it's called by the umpire and the base runners are
on their own.
The base runners have to be tagged if they chose to try and
advance if the ball is not caught.
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname
. It will only take a moment.