https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 7 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Interference

Posted Discussion
Jan. 17
Randall

40 posts
Interference
There is a runner on first base with two outs. The batter hits a short fly in the infield. The runner interferes with the defensive person trying to make a play on the ball. The ball hits the ground in the infield and rolls into foul territory. The umpire calls interference on the runner and the inning ends. The batting team feels that the batter involved with hitting the infield pop which rolled foul should be allowed to bat again, because the runner was ruled out on the interference and that because the ball rolled into foul territory, that he really didn’t have a plate appearance. I believe that the next batter in the order is due up and that the batter who was batting when the runner interference waits his turn in the batting rotation. What do you say. Thank you.
Jan. 17
lowprofile

65 posts
Interference
I'm not sure what the rule is the way it's written? here what's written, I skipped A through D here's all E says...

8.3 • BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT

E. When he interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball or
intentionally interferes with a fielder attempting to throw the ball.

We know the runner is out for interference and dead ball, but it says BATTER-RUNNER? IMO the batter leads off the next inning as he did not make an out (it went foul) the runner did. I could be wrong?
Jan. 18
B.J.

1113 posts
Interference
great question and you won't see this specific scenario described in the rule book..

and I'm only taking a shot in the dark here??

once the runner interferes with the fielder trying to make a play you have a dead ball situation the runner is called out for out #3 and when INT. was called the ball was in fair territory so where it rolled to doesn't matter ..
I would have it as an official at bat and the next batter in the line up to hit next inning???

also lets say the fly ball was foul near the 1st base line and a coach interfered with the catch I would have the batter out on the coaches interference
Jan. 18
Randall

40 posts
Interference
I believe that the answer to this is in the rule book under “the batter is out”. It says that when any member of the offensive team interferes with a defensive players attempt to field the ball, the batter is out. Therefore the batter does not get to bat again until his turn comes up again
Jan. 18
B.J.

1113 posts
Interference
Randall... I'm not sure that rule applies here because it was a base runner that interfered.. I believe that the runner who interfered with the fielder is actually the 3rd out of the inning but the batter would have been charged an at bat
hopefully SSUSA will give us an answer??

either way the batter that followed him would lead off the next inning
Jan. 18
A-RO23
Men's 50
8 posts
Interference
We had this happen in a game this past summer. Only difference (and maybe this helps) there was only 1 out. The interference came at 1b, first baseman was interfered with by the runner on first, the ball landed and then rolled foul. The batter was called out and all runners remained at the base they were on at the time of the pitch.
Jan. 18
B.J.

1113 posts
Interference
A-RO.. I would also have the runner who interfered with the fielder out
Jan. 18
Dbax
Men's 65
2112 posts
Interference
You can’t call the batter and runner both out.
Jan. 19
B.J.

1113 posts
Interference
below are the SSUSA and USA/ASA rules for batter is out..

as you can see the USA/ASA gives a better explanation of the rule and as I posted above to Randall..

SSUSA---- 7.6 • BATTER IS OUT
F. When members of the team at bat interfere with a player attempting to field a fly ball.
EFFECT: §7.6 A-F: The ball is dead and each runner must return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch.

ASA/USA--- Section 6. THE BATTER IS OUT.
I. When members of the team at bat, including those in the team area, OTHER THAN THE RUNNERS interfere with a player attempting to field a fair or foul fly ball.

Jan. 20
curty
Men's 60
187 posts
Interference
i would consider this- for this ruling- a timing play: Batter is out as interference occurred after batted ball, therefore completing his at bat. This situation returns runners to base occupied, meaning runner is not out.
Jan. 20
B.J.

1113 posts
Interference
I was hoping SSUSA would give answer.. but since they haven't I posted this scenario on a ASA/USA umpire
website ..
the answers given basically all agreed ... with less than 2 outs the runner is out for INT and if the umpire judges the ball would have been caught, the BR is also ruled out..

if there were 2 outs the runner is out for INT and the batter was credited with an official at bat
Jan. 20
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1438 posts
Interference
The only thing that ever came up in a clinic (NSA) that was close to this fits the same logic and would influence me. The situation was runner off of 1B after the ball was hit. He was hit with the batted balled, so dead ball out. It was the third out of the inning. So like this, the question was if the batter should bat first the next inning. What they decided was no. The logic was that the out was created because of his batted ball. BJ's point that the question occurs because there were two outs is valid. With less than two outs, the normal result makes better sense. So in either situation, the at bat counts. Only in situations not involving a batted ball such as a runner leaving the base early, or a courtesy runner being on base at his time of bat with two outs does the batter not have a valid at bat and bats first the next inning.

BJ, you are much more precise and succinct than me. Do you agree with what I was taught?
Jan. 20
B.J.

1113 posts
Interference
Nancy, yes... and good examples
Jan. 20
stick8

1994 posts
Interference
Randall, it doesn’t matter if the ball rolls foul. A baserunner can not interfere either intentionally or unintentionally with a defensive fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball.
The next batter in the batting order is up next inning.
Jan. 21
Wayne 37
Men's 65
773 posts
Interference

SSUSA---- 7.6 • BATTER IS OUT
F. When members of the team at bat interfere with a player attempting to field a fly ball.
EFFECT: §7.6 A-F: The ball is dead and each runner must return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch.

It should be runner is out and all runners return to their TOP base unless forced to advance by the B/R becoming a runner. In this instance with less than two outs runner and batter shall be declared out.

With 2 outs Batter is declared out. The batter leading off the next inning is the player following who follows the batter declared out in the batting order.
Jan. 21
B.J.

1113 posts
Interference
wayne.. Please read the rules I posted above giving both SSUSAA and ASA/USA version of RULE 7.6 ... this not the correct rule for INT. by a runner already on base.

I would refer to RULE 8.6 • WHEN SLIDING IS OPTIONAL - AVOIDING COLLISIONS

A runner must make every effort to avoid colliding with opposing players while running the bases or sliding or diving. If in the umpire’s judgment the runner fails to avoid a collision with a defensive player involved in the play, the ball will be declared dead and that runner called out. All base runners except the batter will be returned to their previous base unless forced to advance. If in the umpire’s judgment the runner's collision with the defensive player involved in the play negates a double play, the umpire may award a second out.

I would assume if this is incorrect that SSUSA would give a different ruling and post the proper rule set
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners