Home of Senior Softball-USA and Senior Softball World Championships
Advertisement: Queen Kapiolani Hotel

SSUSA Message Board

Message board home
Sign-in or register to get started
Online now: 4 members: Ceener, Garymyas7, Penquin, QS18; 15 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Base runner tagging up on a bobbled fly ball to the outfield.

Scenario is less than 2 outs, base runner on 3rd base. Fly ball to left field. Ball hits left fielder's glove then bounces up in the air and eventually is caught for the out. Base runner on 3rd is on the bag during the "bobble" and takes off as soon as the ball hits the left fielder's glove, but before the fielder secures the ball for the out. In SSUSA softball, is the base runner out for leaving the base before the ball was caught?

In baseball, the base runner is not out and can leave the base as soon as the ball hits the fielder's glove. (as seen on a post from a "Stump the UMP" web site titled "Tagging up on a bobbled ball").

So, in softball, is the base runner out for leaving the base early on a bobbled fly ball that is eventually caught after bouncing off his glove before it is eventually caught for the out?
From my understanding, once it hit's the glove the runner has the right to tag up and go.
We concur with Frischd44 ...
__________

Rulebook §8.4(8)WHEN RUNNERS CAN ADVANCE AT THEIR RISK
.
D. When a legally caught ball is first touched.

Turbo bob, legal tag. On a fly ball (with less than 2 outs) a runner who is tagging up may advance once the ball is touched by a fielder
I might have this wrong, but I believe this rule changed from control to first touch, in MLB, because of Jimmy Piersall of the Red Sox. He would intentionally bobble the ball as he moved towards the infield.
On a ball over foul territory, the fielder has to complete the act of the catch for the runner to advance legally. First touch of a ball over foul ground is considered a foul ball and a runner cannot advance on a foul ball. it is the act of completing the catch being what keeps the ball alive.
wayne....but yet the runner can still take off on the first touch with ball in foul territory.....he can only score if the ball is actually caught...if dropped he has to return to his base.....
Oh no. It's Deja Vu all over again. Mad Dog you are correct.
It's amazing how someone will try and twist the words around in the ruling to get their own opinion of a simple rule such as this.
mad dog, you are correct. Whether the ball is fair or foul is not relevant.
What's even more amazing is I get my information from umpires who have worked the World Series, not to mention high ranking college and high school officials who will tell you the same thing I have......so if I run into any of them, I'll direct them you all's way.

Anyway, a runner can leave anytime they want to. The defense still has to make a proper appeal.

Diesel Dan, the MLB rule said "caught" for years. They recently amended it a few years ago. I think it was Joe Jackson not Jimmy Piersall.


lol... I have an idea for you, read the SOFTBALL rule book and stop getting info. from your supposed world series and high ranking colleges and high school baseball umpires .. or better yet join a BASEBALL RULES FORUM
Wayne37 I’m not certain what you posted in your first message is 100% accurate. To try and clarify here’s a situation:
Runner on third, no outs.
Batter hits a fly ball to left that hooks into foul territory
Left fielder runs over into foul territory and is still in play
He attempts to make a catch but the ball tips off his glove in the air
and then he reaches over and catches it.
Maybe I’m reading your post wrong and please correct me but are you saying the runner at third cannot advance until the actual catch is made after the tip?
If yes then I would disagree.That could be true in baseball but in slow pitch softball that runner on third can legally advance on the first touch (tip).

I'll break it down one more time for everyone. The rule always said for ages runner can advance when the ball was caught. I'm sure the clowns in the Peanut Gallery, as least I hope, enforced a fair ball at first touch over fair territory as when the runner could legally advance.

But, any ball first touched over foul ground is what? That's right a foul ball. Can a runner advance on a foul ball? No they cannot. That is what makes a fair and foul ball unique for one another. It's right there in the rule book.

Read Definition 1.28 of a foul ball. It is right there in black and white. It defines what is a foul ball. It states a caught fly ball (I assuming over foul territory) is not a foul ball. The key word is caught not, first touched and then caught!

Lets review shall we, ball over fair territory=first touched. Ball over foul territory=caught. [No mention of first touched]

Be it further noted there is no difference in fair or foul territory in SOFTBALL or BASEBALL.
That only exists in the feeble minds of the likes of BJ for whom has to resort in calling people liars because I've handed him his butt so many times it isn't even funny anymore. Merely the inane rambling of a sad and pathetic little man.
** THREAD CLOSED ** • Due to [1] Question already asked and answered accurately in first three posts and [2] Cyclical redundancy non-responsive to original hypothetical ...
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
INTERNATIONAL
SOFTBALL
TOURS
NATIONAL SPONSORS
OFFICIAL GLOVE
OF SSUSA