Home of Senior Softball-USA and Senior Softball World Championships
Advertisement: Queen Kapiolani Hotel

SSUSA Message Board

Message board home
Sign-in or register to get started
Online now: 2 members: Killa31, jurpru; 12 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: triple play?

runners on first and second, nobody out. Batter hits ground ball to shortstop who is moving toward second base bag. SS tags runner on second who inexplicably is tethered to the bag. SS then steps on second forcing runner from first, then throws to first to retire batter/runner. My team says triple play, while opposition says the man stationed on second base is not out because he never left bag.


Why do you think the runner on 2nd is out?

Triple play. The man on second is no longer entitled to that base.
This is a triple play ... Dbax is correct ...

See Rulebook §8.1 B. on page 43 • "..When a base runner acquires the right to a base by touching it before being put out, he may hold the base until he has legally touched the next base in order or is forced to vacate it for a succeeding runner. EFFECT: Base runner is liable to be put out, whether or not he remains in contact with the base, if he fails to vacate the base for the succeeding runner.."

Triple play. Runner at second is forced to advance.
the SS must tag the runner on second first before stepping on the bag, if he steps on bag first then the runner on the bag is safe. No triple play.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
INTERNATIONAL
SOFTBALL
TOURS
NATIONAL SPONSORS
OFFICIAL GLOVE
OF SSUSA