http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 42 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: I've never seen this before

Posted Discussion
June 30, 2016
k man
Men's 65
308 posts
I've never seen this before
In our 40+ USSSA umpired league the other night, there was a play I had never seen before.
The pitcher pitches the ball, it hits the front of the plate and bounces straight up in the air.
The batter had taken what I would call a check swing leaving the bat somewhat above the plate.
When the ball came down from hitting the front of the plate, it hits his bat and lands about 5 feet in front of home plate in fair territory.

If this had happened in our 60+ league, once it hits the plate. It is a dead ball strike as hitting the plate is a strike in all leagues I play in.

The ruling that night was its a ball in play. Bases were loaded at the time so the catcher could have stepped on the plate and thrown to 1st as the batter stood there as did most of the confused runners. Turns out they got the batter at 1st or he was tagged before he even ran and then they got the runner who stood between 1st and 2nd.

Is that the USSSA rule?
I have to assume so.
Any thoughts
June 30, 2016
B.J.
973 posts
This isn't a U-Trip web site....it's senior softball
but I used to umpire USSSA about 8 yrs ago...I believe it's a dead ball unless there is stealing....either way once the pitch hits the plate or the ground it can not be hit...
June 30, 2016
joel 1975
131 posts
see if you had have played asa instead of u-trip you would have seen the play before when ball hit's plate from a legal pitch it's a dead ball from the moment it hit's any part of the plate.yr's ago it could hit the black part of plate & still be live but was too confusing so they changed it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
June 30, 2016
k man
Men's 65
308 posts
BJ- a) I know it's a senior softball website
b) I was hoping some of the players with experience would be able to answer the question
c) What would the call have been if this scenario happened in a SSUSA tournament
Thanks for your help
June 30, 2016
B.J.
973 posts
once a pitched ball hits the strike mat or the ground it is a dead ball
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners