https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Boom Boom 1; 9 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for stick8


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by stick8 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Dec. 7, 2022
stick8
Topic: Players looking to join a team
Discussion: 60+ Animal

What happens in Vegas…………….never happened
Nov. 27, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Home plate issue

Screamer it’s important to do a pregame with your partner to go over certain situations to determine who has what.
Several years ago I worked with a guy who looked at me funny after I went over stuff in our pregame. Then in the 3rd inning we had a situation like rangeview85 described. I’m in the field. Routine fly to left center. Instead of going out i button hook to get in position for a possible play at second. Runner at second tags and goes to third. Runner at first tags and goes to second. Throw goes to third. I look for my partner to make a call and he’s leaning on the backstop talking with someone. I yelled out that’s your call at third. He said no that’s your call. Then he said I call balls and strikes only.
After a momentary rage i finished the game and I told
my assignor at the time don’t put me with that clown ever again.





Nov. 2, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: ow to appeal a call

Dead ball appeal used be next batter in the box, pitcher on the mound appeals to the umpire the runner on second missed first. Pitcher steps off the mound throws to first, first baseman steps on first then the call is made.
Now you just ask the umpire.
Oct. 23, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: How would you call this one?

BJ you are correct in your assumption. This happened in a mens league game I was umpiring last week. B/R was out.
Oct. 22, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: How would you call this one?

Runner on first, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to left center. Runner on first is tagging. The batter runner is hustling and passes the runner tagging up on first. Then the left center fielder misses the fly ball. Is the batter runner out for passing the runner on first?
Oct. 17, 2022
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Courtesy Runner Rule Question

Here’s my line up:
1) Cobb. 2) Bonds 3) Ruth 4) Williams 5) Mays 6) Bench 7) Gehrig
8) Schmidt 9) Wagner 10) Hornsby 11) Koufax

AJC, I initially thought that coach was joking but he was serious plus was quite agitated! Only in senior softball
Oct. 17, 2022
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: You make the call:

Umpire was correct. The third batter took a strike for him!!
Oct. 17, 2022
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Courtesy Runner Rule Question

I don’t umpire a whole lot of senior ball but here is a situation I had. .
Open inning. #14 goes in to run. He scores two batters later. He comes up to bat three batters later and gets a base hit. After the first pitch to the next batter the coach for the other team argues #14 should be out because he already ran for someone. Just because you ran for someone earlier in the same inning, you can’t run for yourself—really?
Aug. 4, 2022
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Am i wrong to think this way

Benji, ive umprd some u-trip conference and they do it right. Bats are tested before teams play. A sticker is put on the ones that pass and then they’re put into a plastic bucket. Team Buckets are put on the field before their game. Players can only use the bats from their team bucket. After play is done for the day the team buckets are locked away until the next day. Once teams are eliminated is when they get their bats back. Now I don’t expect senior softball to do anything like that but unless they come out with an mri for bats, that’s as fulproof as you can get.
Now I ump for one nation. In the lower levels if a pitcher gets drilled then the bat is taken out and is given a compression test that my UIC has on site. Pass and bat is returned to the player. Fail and they keep the bat and try to somehow determine if it’s been shaved. How they do that is beyond me.
I had a case a couple years ago. A class D players bat tested 140 on all 4 sides. Yikes! It was sent away to be cut open and it was totally shaved. That guy was banned for 5 years.
I was not aware senior softball doesn’t have a compression number for their bats.
Aug. 3, 2022
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Am i wrong to think this way

Anyone caught using a shaved senior bat should be banned at least 10 years.
Aug. 2, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What’s your call

Scott, it was a Mens E tournament and I totally agree with your sentiments. Young kids, many of whom feel their s—- doesn’t stink. Since that play I’ve come to learn from several players that particular outfielder does this fairly often and actually practices it.
I’ll have to check the One Nation rule book but USSSA did have a rule that states you cannot intentionally do that. It’s umpire judgement.
Aug. 2, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Player awarded a base

Your assumption is technically correct Crusher. Had a play last night. Runner on 1st, one out. Batter gets base hit to left center. Runner on first rounds second and heads to third. Throw to third skips by third baseman into third base dugout. I call “dead ball” runner at third scores and batter-runner gets third. Even though the defense can’t try to get an out it’s plausible to say time is out but the play isn’t complete until the runner(s) go to the bases they are awarded as a result of the dead ball. Personally I don’t call “time” on a play like that and I don’t know any other umps that would. But there may some that do.
July 31, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Player awarded a base

Crusher when you say tthat once the ball is out of play the runner cannot tag up, the ball is dead, I dont believe that’s accurate. I think you meant that when the umpire calls time and kills the play a runner cannot go back and tag up.

Example: Player A hits a gapper and he legs out a triple but he misses second base. The throw comes in to second, player B secures it and the ump calls time. Here you cannot go back and touch second.
Same play but if player B tries to throw you out at third and the throw goes out of play the ump will award you home. Here it is legal to retouch second.
BJ and/or Donna can correct me if I’m mistaken.

July 31, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What’s your call

Answers:
1) Yes, the runner had legally scored before the ball struck the individuals foot
2) From my vantage point the individual that was struck was standing in the entrance to the dugout.
3) Can’t really say he was on the field. But your second sentence is correct.

You’re also correct that this was not senior softball. Although I umpired u-trip for a lot of years I currently umpire for One Nation. Rules for this situation are pretty much the same across the board for young man’s ball.

For senior ball I defer to BJ or Donna.

July 30, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What’s your call

This happened in a game I was umpiring a couple weeks ago. Young man ball.
Bottom of the 7th, 2 outs, runners on first and second, tie score. Left handed batter is up, defense is playing 5 infielders and 3 outfielders.
Batter gets a base hit into the left center gap. Runner at second scores easily. Game over or is it?
Center fielder runs over, fields the ball and throws it toward the third base dugout as the home team was running out to celebrate a walk-off. The throw hits a player in tne foot as he’s standing in the entrance to their dugout. The other teams proceeds to start vociferously arguing obstruction, blocked ball, lead runner should be out.
What would be your call?
July 26, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Player awarded a base

Crusher I had a play just last week like what was described. Runner on first, no outs. Batter hits a line drive at the pitcher who made a nice catch. Runner was caught off base and was a dead duck. Pitchers throw to first was wild and went under a fence—out of play. Dead ball, runner gets third. That runner did go back and touch first and then went to second and to third. Totally legal.
July 23, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Player awarded a base

Donna is correct. The easy way to think of this is:
1) a throw from the outfield that goes out of play-runners get two bases from the time of the throw
2) a throw from the infield that goes out of play-runners get two bases from the time of the pitch.
In this scenario the runner that was on first is awarded third. But in this case he must retouch first or else he’s out if the defense appeals.
July 15, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: time limit rule for league play

Since your approximate starting game times are 90 minutes apart the easiest way to go is play 6 innings and the 7th being the open inning. You’ll find most games will get done in that time frame but a few might run longer and a few may end early. That’s softball!
July 15, 2022
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Foul Tip

BJ is correct about the SSUSA rule on this. ISSA and SPA I’m not sure about. Whatever association tournament you’re team is playing in its always good to refer to that particular association rulebook on this and other situations before you play.
BJ can correct me if I’m wrong but as I understand it any rule that is not covered by SSUSA, ISSA or SPA rulebooks is referred to the USA (formerly ASA) rulebook.
As an aside, I umpire young man ball for One Nation. Any foul tip below the batters shoulder caught by the catcher is an out no matter how many strikes are on the batter.
June 30, 2022
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Great call by a manager!!!

In my situation he most certainly could have Danaj18. I suspect he was intentionally walked to avoid the batting team discovering he was batting out of order while he was at bat. If they did then they could put in the correct batter who would’ve assumed the count.

« Newer messages       Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners