SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: dkrollw364; 52 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for joebodyman

Real name:



Messages posted by joebodyman »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

June 23, 2022
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: time limit rule for league play

Our league has a time limit rule that reads: End time: No new inning will start after 75 minutes from the start of the game. Ie: 75 minutes plus one inning for all early or late games. The situation we had was the first place team,visitors, (not my team) was down 5 runs and had just finished the 5th inning. game time was between 65 and 70 minutes into the time limit. Umpire decided the 6th inning would be the last inning and would be unlimited (we have a 5 run rule per inning, exept the last which is unlimited) The visiting team protested the game based on the example given in the rule (75 min. + 1 inning) and continued play. Visitors went down 1,2,3 and since visitors were losing game was called. If the home team would have batted, I don't think they would have finished before 75 Minutes was up.

My questions: Did the umpire make the right decision in shortening the game and changing the playing of the
6th inning to play like the 7th inning?

Is this a protestable situation because of the ambiguity of rule as written?

Should this rule be rewritten because of it's ambiguity?

I would appreciate any and all comments.

Thank you

Sept. 7, 2020
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Pitchers stance and ball presentation

Thanks guys.
Always appreciate your input.

Sept. 5, 2020
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Pitchers stance and ball presentation

Two questions I have:
1) It is my understanding that A pitcher is supposed to pause for one second and present the ball with either one hand or both hands. Does the pitcher actually have to show the batter the ball before he pitches or does the fact that he has paused with the ball in his mitt satisfy this condition before he pitches the ball?

2) Our league has a rule that a pitcher may stand up to ten feet behind the mound to pitch. My question is: once I have satisfied the ball presentation rule, can I take one or more steps forward before I release my pitch, as long as I stay in line with the rubber and the plate?

July 1, 2019
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Do we win or do we lose

The umpire called it correctly but there was a lot of discussion on whether the out at second base was a force out or not. I just wanted to get clarification because the umpire didn't really clarify his ruling to both teams. Thanks for the comments.

June 27, 2019
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Do we win or do we lose

Here is the situation. Bottom of the seventh inning, game tied, with one out and runners on 2nd and 3rd base. Fly ball hit to shallow left field. Runner on 3rd tags up and prepares to run home. Runner on 2nd base heads for 3rd base and doesn't tag up. Ball is caught for the second out and the runner on 3rd goes home. The runner who was at second going to third immediately heads back to second base but is thrown out before he reaches 2nd for the third out. The runner who tagged up at third has already crossed home plate before the out at second. Question: Does the run count because he scored before the third out or are we playing extra innings because the run doesn't count after the 3rd out?

Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook