https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 5 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Randall


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by Randall »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Nov. 9, 2020
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference

Why is the second out at first not automatic if the runner interfered with the defensive player at second base hindering his throw to first?
Jan. 18, 2020
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference

I believe that the answer to this is in the rule book under “the batter is out”. It says that when any member of the offensive team interferes with a defensive players attempt to field the ball, the batter is out. Therefore the batter does not get to bat again until his turn comes up again
Jan. 17, 2020
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference

There is a runner on first base with two outs. The batter hits a short fly in the infield. The runner interferes with the defensive person trying to make a play on the ball. The ball hits the ground in the infield and rolls into foul territory. The umpire calls interference on the runner and the inning ends. The batting team feels that the batter involved with hitting the infield pop which rolled foul should be allowed to bat again, because the runner was ruled out on the interference and that because the ball rolled into foul territory, that he really didn’t have a plate appearance. I believe that the next batter in the order is due up and that the batter who was batting when the runner interference waits his turn in the batting rotation. What do you say. Thank you.
Nov. 2, 2018
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner reversing direction

I agree with almost all of these discussions. My biggest point of contention, is, when a player is forced to advance to the next base, is he allowed to turn around and go back to his starting base before any defensive play of forcing out a runner
Nov. 1, 2018
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Runner reversing direction

With bases loaded a ground ball is hit to third. The runner on third breaks for home but well before the commitment line he reverses and returns to third. The third baseman had touched the bag on his fielding of the ball and forced out the runner from second base and then threw home but the runner starting at third returned to 3B because the force was off.. I was under the impression that a runner who is in a force out position must continue forward and may not turn around. I certainly can't find this in the rule book. Please respond. Thanks. I thought I posted this question earlier, but I couldn't find the post.

March 23, 2018
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Ground rule double/courtesy runner

We had a situation where the batter/runner hit a ball off the fence in center field and the ball became lodged between the fence and an advertising placard. A ground rule double was the call on the field. The batter/runner went to first base and left the field because a courtesy runner was being sent to second base to assume the ground rule double ruling. The courtesy runner touched second base. The defensive team claimed that the batter/runner needed to get to second base by himself and that the courtesy runner should be called out. Is this an out ? If so, who is out, the batter runner or the courtesy runner? Thank you
Jan. 19, 2018
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: first baseman charging the plate during delivery of the pitch

I couldn't believe I was watching this happen, but it was an obvious attempt to distract the batter. Besides being bush league and extremely dangerous, is there a rule and or penalty that applies to this action? Thanks
Jan. 4, 2018
Randall
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Wearing a glove on the throwing hand

Is it legal to wear a batting glove on your throwing hand when playing defense?
April 5, 2017
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Pitch that hits the ground before home plate

If a batter swings at this pitch after the ball hits the ground, is the ball dead and a ball called on the batter? Conversely if the swing occurs before the ball hits the dirt or strike mat ,is this considered a strike?
April 5, 2017
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Ejection

If a team starts with ten players and then an ejection occurs with no additional players available, does the game continue or is it a forfeit?
March 19, 2017
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two bases from release of throw or one base from the base last touched

Thank you to BJ and to all the other discussion Participants. I believe BJ has the correct ruling. I wish the SSUSA staff would concur or disagree
March 18, 2017
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two bases from release of throw or one base from the base last touched

Sorry, but I'm still confused. The runner that started at 1B had reached 2B and the BR had not reached 1B at the release of the throw. I understand that the BR should be awarded 2B, but I think from your answer that the runner who started at 1B gets awarded 3B. If he had earned 2B by the time the throw was released, wouldn't he be awarded home? Thank you for having this discussion
March 17, 2017
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two bases from release of throw or one base from the base last touched

To BJ March 17 , the BR had not reached first at time of throw, however the runner that started at first had reached second at time of throw. When ball went into dugout , does runner who started at 1b get awarded third or home. Thanks
March 17, 2017
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Time out

I spoke with an umpire who told me that in all of the senior tournaments that he has played in that the umpire waits for the defensive team to ask for time before the umpire would call time. I stated that the umpire calls time when he feels that live play has ended. What is SSUSA interpretation of when the umpire calls time? Thank you
March 17, 2017
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two bases from release of throw or one base from the base last touched

Situation. Runner on first base. Batter hits ball up the middle. It is cut off by F6 who throws to 1B because the runner who started on 1b has reached 2B. The throw goes errant and lands in the dugout. SSUSA rules state two bases from release of the ball. ASA rules state the same but have an exception for an overthrow which leaves live ball territory or is blocked, the runners shall be awarded one base from the base last touched. Since the runner who started on 1b had reached 2b at the time of release, what is the SSUSA ruling, does that lead runner stop at 3B or is he awarded home? Thank you
Jan. 10, 2017
Randall
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Interference

With R1 on first with no outs. B2 hits a ground ball to F6. F6 fields and throws to F4 at second base for a force out. F4 makes a relay throw to first base for an attempted double play. His throw hits R1 who is in the baseline, but not trying to interfere with the throw. Is this interference on R1? I think not because the runner is entitled to the baseline and not trying to interfere, but I would like your ruling. Thank you
Feb. 11, 2016
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Sliding into first base

Is sliding into first base legal in SSUSA?


Feb. 3, 2016
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Foul tip caught by catcher

I inadvertently listed the USSSA, but I intended to list SSUSA.
Jan. 28, 2016
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Foul tip caught by catcher

I believe that T.C. Sr. has the proper ruling. That is that it would be an out regardless of the count if the ball is caught with the hands or give and the use of no other equipment. It is in the rule book but a gentlemen in our league says that he spoke to an official of the USSSA and was told that the rule book is wrong. Any input from anyone?
Jan. 26, 2016
Randall
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Foul tip caught by catcher

On the message board I found discussion on this topic, but the last discussion was in 2012. This is approx. the time that The ASA changed their rule for a foul tip to be ruled an out even if it was not over the batters head. The rule states that the ball must go directly to the catchers glove. In our umpire meeting, we interpreted that if the ball would bounce off the catchers body or equipment, then the ball did not go directly to the catchers glove and the batter would not be out in that case. Has senior softball adopted this rule or does the foul need to go over the batters head?
« Newer messages       Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners